Mayo GAA Convention 2013

Mayo GAA Convention 2013

Club '51 Logo The Mayo GAA Convention 2013 was held in Breaffy House Hotel on Sunday last 8th December. The County Board’s overall income and expenditure both topped the €2 million mark in 2013, with a small surplus of €69,155 reported for the financial year of October 31, 2013. The cost of preparing the Mayo senior football team increased by almost €170,000 last year, with the trip to Miami last January costing ‘in the region’ of €156,000. Croke Park provided a grant of €80,000 for the trip with the County board paying the remainder €76,000. Travelling expenses cost more than €405,000 compared to €271,000 in 2012. Medical and catering expenses also rose in 2013. That left total expenses for the senior team for 2013 at €646,440, compared to €480,334 for last year. On a more worrying note though, the amount spent on coaching and games development in Mayo fell by almost €40,000 in 2013 to €277,498. Gate receipts for the year were down almost €20,000. Click on the links below to download the reports.

Click here to download the County Convention Report 2013

Click here to download Mayo GAA Accounts 2013

Will Kildare v Mayo Be Moved to Croke Park?

Will Kildare v Mayo Be Moved to Croke Park?

Mayo v Kildare 16th Mar 2013

Mayo v Kildare NFL Div 1 16th March 2013 McHale Park

It was first reported in the Leinster Leader last Friday that  “negotiations are underway between Kildare GAA, Mayo and Croke Park, to move the Lilywhite’s opening Allianz National Football League fixture from St Conleth’s Park to Croke Park from the scheduled date of Sunday February 2nd to Saturday the 1st, as a curtain raiser to Dublin v Kerry. They were expecting a decision “in the coming days“. Kildare earned €150,000 last year by forfeiting their home advantage to play Donegal and Dublin in Croke Park, as part of the Spring Series.

Mayo GAA have stated at the weekend that “No negotiations took place on their side” and that the match would go ahead as per the master fixtures list, Sunday 2nd February in Newbridge.

With Kildares finances in such a bad state, you would think they would be pushing hard for the match to be moved to Croke Park, to increase their takings on the gate. Since the last time we played Kildare in Newbridge was in 2008, (we bet them that day 2-14 to 2-08) the capacity of St Conleths Park has been reduced hugely to just 6000 in recent years by the health & safety brigade.

Edit : With the Mayo team due to go on holidays to the far east on the 1st January, our first fbd match against NUIG which was due to be played on Sunday 5th January, will now be played the following Friday the 10th in Mc Hale park.

View our new interactive GAA grounds locator map.

Last Chance To Get Your GAA Season Tickets Before Christmas

Last Chance To Get Your GAA Season Tickets Before Christmas

GAA season tickets 2014

GAA Season Tickets 2014

Tomorrow Friday 29th November will be your last chance to order your GAA Season Tickets for 2014 to have them delivered in time for Christmas. Any season tickets ordered after this date will be produced and sent out in January 2014. Anyone that has renewed or bought their GAA Season Ticket before Friday 29th, their tickets will be sent out Friday 6th December. If you bought season tickets as Christmas presents and will not receive them in time for Christmas, Download your Season Ticket Gift Letter Here, to download and print out the gift letter to put under the tree.

View all information about the Croke Park season ticket on our season tickets page.

FBD League Fixtures Announced

FBD League Fixtures Announced

The FBD League fixtures for 2014 have been announced today. Although the fixtures and dates have been announced, the venues have yet to be confirmed. As soon as they are we will update here.

Sunday 5 January
Roscommon v Sligo It, 2pm
Mayo v NUIG, 2pm Mc Hale Park. Re-fixed for Friday 10th January
Galway v Sligo, 2pm
Leitrim v GMIT, 2pm

Sunday 12 January
NUIG v Roscommon, 2pm
Mayo v Sligo IT, 2pm (Charlestown?)
Sligo v GMIT, 2pm
Galway v Leitrim, 2pm

Sunday 19 January
Sligo IT v NUIG, 2pm
Roscommon v Mayo, 2pm (Ballinlough?)
Leitrim v Sligo, 2pm
Galway GMIT, 2pm

Sunday 26 January

In other news, Club ’51’s new banner arrived today and boy is it big! A suitable place had to be found to display it fully to get a photo of it!! A big thank you to Mark and Aodháin for designing the banner. Hopefully it will make its debut on the 4th of January for the first FBD match against NUIG. A huge thank you also to everyone who contributed to the cost, any monies left over will go towards another banner, which the group will decide on.

Club 51 Banner

Club 51 Banner

The Club ’51 banner, which measures 19ft x 7ft was manufactured by Flag Man Ireland. You can contact Flag man by clicking on the photo below.

Flag Man Ireland Facebook Page

4 All Stars For Mayo

4 All Stars For Mayo

mayo gaa all stars 2013

Lee Keegan, Aidan O’Shea, Keith Higgins and Colm Boyle with their 2013 GAA GPA All-Star awards.

The 2013 All Stars ceremony took place this evening in Croke Park and Mayo came away with 4 this year. Congratulations to Keith Higgins and Lee Keegan for winning their second All Star, and to Colm Boyle and Aiden O’Shea for winning their first well deserved All Stars.We feel hard done by again this year (well we are biased!) on not winning more All Stars with Ger Cafferkey and Cillian O’Connor loosing out to Rory O’Carroll and Connor Mc Manus respectfully. It was a double blow for Cillian though, being the Championship top scorer for 2013 also loosing out to Jack Mc Caffery for Young Player Of The Year Award.

Anyway The All Stars puts an end to the 2013 Championship season and we can all now look forward to the 2014 season starting with the FBD League starting in January. It will be all the sweeter this time next year winning the bulk of the All Stars, with all them All Ireland medals falling out of the lads arse pockets!!

2013 all stars group photo

Photo : GPA @gaelicplayers

GAA GPA  Gaelic Football All Stars 2013

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Colin Walshe (Monaghan), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin),              Keith Higgins (Mayo)Lee Keegan (Mayo), Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin ), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Paul Flynn (Dublin ), Colm Cooper (Kerry), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), James O’Donoghue (Kerry), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Conor McManus (Monaghan).

Footballer of the year –  Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin).

Young player of the year – Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Page 15 of 16« First...1213141516
Sponsored by The home of Top Performance and High Quality in Affordable web design, hosting and cloud applications.