Club ’51 takes a tongue-in-cheek look into the future and boldly predicts what no-one has before …. and probably never will again

Crystal Ball - Mayo Club 51 looks into the future.

January 2015 – Mayo exit the FBD league at the group stage. Leitrim are champions again.

February 2015 – Mayo lose both league games. In an exclusive interview with the Mayo News Aidan O’Shea promises that they will get better and are getting used to the new management team.

March 2015 – Monaghan are the surprise package of the National Football League division 1 and add to their points with a win against Mayo. Speaking exclusively to the Irish Times, Conor O’Shea insists the Mayo players are enjoying the change of emphasis brought about by the new management team.

April 2015 – Mayo escape relegation as Cork only beat Derry and Derry have failed to pick up a single point. Monaghan beat Tyrone in the National league final.

May 2015 – On a windy Tuesday night the stand in MacHale Park collapses.

June 2015 – Andy Moran and Alan Dillon both score two goals in Mayos Connacht semi final rout of Galway. Eugene McGee in the Sunday independent writes “the new management team kept faith with the old guard and this sets them up with a shot at their fifth Connacht title in a row”

Crystal Ball - Mayo Club 51 looks into the future.July 2015 – Tommy “Goals” Conroy and Evan Reagan combine for 3-10 as Mayo beat Roscommon in the Connacht final.  Eugene McGee writes “the introduction of this new blood is exactly the boost Mayo needed to seal their fifth Connacht title in a row and sets them up for a great tilt at the All-Ireland title”. Dublin are crowned kings of Leinster after a 4-15 to 0-2 humbling of Meath. Mayo draw the losing Munster finalists Kerry in the All Ireland series draw. Joe Brolly nearly wets himself on air at the thought of the mouthwatering Dublin vs Kerry final in the offing. James Horan speaking exclusively to the Western People insists that only now have the players finally gotten used to the new management team. Donegal are champions of Ulster once more and draw Connacht runners up Roscommon.

August 2015 – On the same day in Croke park Armagh and Mayo progress to the all Ireland semi final. Joe Brolly hails Armagh as the team to beat this year after their 2-1 to 1-3 victory over Dublin. Mayo edge Kerry by a single point 1-8 to 1-7 in a game blighted by cards in which both Keith Higgins and Killian Young get sent off. Pat Spillane is furious in the RTE studio calling the Mayo players masters of the dark arts and that they are a shower of hatchet men guided by a ruthless management team.

Late August 2015 – Mayo and Roscommon play out an epic semi-final in a packed Croke Park. A late Andy Moran point saves Mayo. The replay is set for Hyde park in Roscommon due to the 26 Garth Brooks concerts in Croke Park, the renovation of Páirc Uí Caoímh, the hurling semi finals in Limerick and Thurles, the other semi being a draw as well, an under 12’s blitz in Salthill and the collapsed stand in MacHale Park. Nobody is surprised when it is later revealed that the Mayo County Board had agreed to this arrangement in the case of a draw. John Maughan is quoted in Horse & Hound magazine as not being sure if the Mayo panel have gotten used to this new management team. Armagh beat Donegal in the first ever All Ireland semi final replay held in Clones.

September 2015 – The Mayo team are struck down by an outbreak of food poisoning in their hotel in Westport in advance of the All Ireland replay in Roscommon. GAA President Aogan Farrell denies the Mayo request for a deferral of the replay by a week, insisting “Mayo should just get on with it if they know what’s good for them”. Mayo and Roscommon deliver another classic settled in the end by a point in extra time from the boot of Senan Kilbride . Writing in the Sunday Independent Eugene McGee insists “it has been obvious for the last 50 years that Mayo will never win another All-Ireland, I don’t know why they bother”. Speaking exclusively to the Connacht Telegraph John O’Mahony is quoted as saying “I don’t think the Mayo players ever got used to this new management team”.

Armagh are crowned all Ireland champions after a 2-11 to 0-4 thrashing of Roscommon. Joe Brolly declares Kieran Mc Geeney the greatest footballer, manager, Ulster man and Gael that ever lived. No Roscommon man makes RTE’s team of the year.

October 2015 – Roscommon do not get one All-Star.

November 2015 – No Roscommon man is picked for the Compromise Rules team.

December 2015 – Dublin are voted football team of the year by RTE.

Follow me on
Latest posts by bbash (see all)
Sponsored by The home of Top Performance and High Quality in Affordable web design, hosting and cloud applications.