2015 International Rules

2015 International Rules

2015 International Rules Croke Park 21st November 7 pm

2015 International Rules Test match
The 2015 International Rules one off test match between Ireland and Australia is to be played in Croke Park on Saturday evening the 21st November at 7 pm. Australia beat Ireland last year in Perth by 10 points to reclaim the Cormac McAnallen Cup. The match will be preceded by the Hurling Shinty international between Ireland and Scotland.

2015 international rules series

Pic: RTE

Ireland 2015 International Rules Team

Pic : @GAA_Box_Scores

Ireland team: 1 Niall Morgan (Tyrone), 2 Colm Begley (Laois), 3 Gary Brennan (Clare), 4 Bernard Brogan (Dublin) CAPT. 5 Eoin Cadogan (Cork), 9 Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), 10 Eoin Doyle (Kildare), 11 Peter Harte (Tyrone), 13 Darren Hughes (Monaghan), 15 Lee Keegan (Mayo) VICE CAPT., 17 Paul Kerrigan (Cork), 19 Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), 20 Ciarán McDonald (Tipperary), 22 Philip McMahon (Dublin), 23 Conor McManus (Monaghan), 25 Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), 26 John O’Loughlin (Laois), 28 Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), 29 Michael Quinn (Longford), 31 Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), 33 Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), 34 Paul Cribbin (Kildare), 35 Paddy Mc Brearty (Donegal).
Stand by Players: 16 Paddy O’Rourke (Meath), 6 Killian Clarke (Cavan), 7 Ray Connellan (Westmeath), 14 Kieran Hughes (Monaghan), 21 Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan), 24 Dessie Mone (Monaghan), 27 Colm O’Neill (Cork), 30 Enda Smith (Roscommon)
Manager: Joe Kernan.
Australia team: Eddie Betts (Adelaide), Grant Birchall (Hawthorn), Luke Breust (Hawthorn), Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong), Dustin Fletcher (Essendon), Andrew Gaff (West Coast), Brendon Goddard (Essendon), Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide), Dyson Heppell (Essendon), Luke Hodge (Hawthorn), Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), David Mundy (Fremantle), Robert Murphy (Western Bulldogs), Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda), Tom Rockliff (Brisbane Lions), Jarryd, Roughead (Hawthorn), Nick Smith (Sydney Swans), Jake Stringer (Western Bulldogs), Harry Taylor (Geelong), Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide), Easton Wood (Western Bulldogs). Coach : Alastair Clarkson.
ickets for the 2015 International Rules test at Croke Park are currently on sale via www.gaa.ie and participating SuperValu and Centra outlets, priced at €25 for adults and €5 for children.
Group and school passes are also available, €3 per child with one adult free with every 10 children, please see www.gaa.ie/tickets for further information.
Note for GAA Season Ticket holders: Season ticket holders should have received an email earlier in the week regarding special ticket prices as follows;

We have a special offer for 2016 Season Ticket Holders for these games on Saturday November 21st at Croke Park. Support your country!
For limited time only Season Ticket holders can purchase Adult tickets at a discounted price of only €20!!!
The pricing is as follows:
Adult €20 (€5 discount applied)
Juvenile €5
This offer is open until midnight on Monday November 16th

If you would like to avail of the offer, then all you need to do is log into your season ticket account and click on “Special Purchases”.



International Rules Series

International Rules Series

Paul Earley has named his team for the upcoming International Rules Series in Australia next month.

2014 international rules series

Photo via visitsubiaco.com.au

Paul Earley the Irish International Rules Series manager has named his team to play Australia next month. There are five Mayo natives named on the team, including Pearse Hanley who is currently playing for Brisbane Lions. The Irish manager speaking to GAA.ie this week has admitted that he had to make some difficult calls. He beleives that he has the strongest team possible travelling to play Australia next month. The first test is to be played in Perth on Saturday the 22nd of November.

There are four Mayo players travelling to Australia with the 25 man squad. The 4 Mayo players included in the International Rules Series team are Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Kevin Mc Loughlan and Aidan O’Shea. From an initial training panel of 38 the final touring team of 25 was picked after a final training session  in Croke Park last week. The 2014 Irish International rules series team are as follows;

Colm Begley (Laois), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Cathal Cregg (Roscommon), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Finian Hanley (Galway), Pearse Hanley (Brisbane Lions), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo), James McCarthy (Dublin), Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Neil McGee (Donegal), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Kevin McKernan (Down), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan), David Moran (Kerry), Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Ross Munnelly (Laois), Michael Murphy (Donegal, captain), Colm O’Neill (Cork), Pádraig O’Neill (Kildare), Paddy O’Rourke (Meath), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Aidan Walsh (Cork, vice-captain).

The Irish team are due to fly out to Australia on the 12th of November. The international rules series this year will only be one test, instead of two tests as in previous years. This will make it all the more difficult on the Irish team, as well as the fact of having to travel and the intense heat there. The Irish team will get to play a warm up game against a Victorian Football League All Star team at the Sandringham VFL Grounds on Sunday, November 16. The one test series will be played at the Patterson Stadium in Perth (formerly the Subiaco Oval and the current home of AFL sides Fremantle and the West Coast Eagles) on November 22.

International rules series Subiaco Oval 2014

Patersons Stadium Perth. Photo via panoramio.com

Previous meetings between Ireland and Australia 

  • Series : Ireland 9, Australia 8.
  • Test matchs  38 : Ireland 20, Australia 16. ( 2 draws )
  •  Aggregate score : Ireland 2,116 – Australia 1,978.

For match day information visit Patersons Stadium website, (formally the Subiaco Oval stadium) and the home of AFL sides Fremantle and the West Coast Eagles.

Sponsored by BizSpace.ie The home of Top Performance and High Quality in Affordable web design, hosting and cloud applications.