2014 All Ireland Masters Football Final

2014 All Ireland Masters Football Final

The 2014 All Ireland Masters Football final between Mayo and Galway takes place this Saturday.

masters football final 2014

Stephen Joyce Galway selector, Ruaidhri O’ Connor Irish TV presenter, and Kenneth Mortimer at press launch recently.

The All Ireland Masters football final between Mayo and Galway is set for this Saturday at the Clonberne Community Sports Field in Galway. Throw in is scheduled for 3.30 and will be shown live on Irish TV, channel 191 on Sky. This will be Galways 3rd All Ireland Masters football final on the run, while Mayo last won the Masters in 2009. The Gaelic Masters Association promotes itself as a competitive inter-county tournament for footballers over the age of 40.

The GAA has in recent years distanced itself from the Masters football tournament, it used to promote the game in the past. Player insurance seems to be the major stumbling block therefore it’s not covered by the GAA insurance, or the GAA player injury scheme. All the match’s are played on community pitch’s none have been played on official GAA grounds.

The GAA does still promote a masters’ competition, albeit less competitive, under its social and recreational games initiative.

“This will showcase the phenomenal interest and passion that Gaelic players still have in playing our native games despite their age,” said chairperson of the Gaelic Masters Association, James Breslin.

“This is a wonderful opportunity to showcase the effort and work of the Gaelic Masters Association and to encourage more counties to get involved with the competition.”

2014 gaelic masters finalThe Mayo Masters have to date played Tyrone, winning on a scoreline of 2-12 to 0-05. Mayo then beat Leitrim 3-14 to 1-04. Mayo again met Leitrim in the Masters football semi final this time winning by 1-06 to Leitrim 0-07 to secure a place in the final.

The Mayo v Galway final will be preceded by the Shield final between Cavan and Tyrone with throw in at 2pm.

Result : Galway 0-07, Mayo 0-06.

Mayo team ; 1 Martin Conway (Westport) 2 John Crean (Ardnaree) 3 Declan Ryan (Kilmeena) 4 John Pat Sheridan ( Burrishoole) 5 Gary Ruane (Bohola Moy Davitts) 6 Kenny Mortimor (Shrule/Glencorrib) 7 Pat Mulchrone (Kilmeena) 8 Noel Ryan ( Killala) 9 Brian Hughs (Bohola Moy Davitts 10 Darren Madden (Kilmeena) 11 Pat Fallon (Barna) 12 Anthony Mc Garry (Ballina Stephenites) 13 Noel Stagg (Hollymount/Carramore) 14 John Flannery (Balla) 15 Pat Clark (Bohola Moy Davitts)

Sponsored by BizSpace.ie The home of Top Performance and High Quality in Affordable web design, hosting and cloud applications.