Route ’51 in the Middle East

Route ’51 in the Middle East

Route ’51 winds a circuitous route around the globe and wherever green and red is worn then our Club 51 flag is in danger of making an appearance.

Marie Sweeney from Bangor took her footballing skills to Sharjah the capital city of the Emirate of Sharjah and whilst participating in the Ladies GAA tournament at the famous Sharjah Wanderers Sports club she managed to gather other Mayo ladies around to pose with the flag.

Pictured above, front row: Lorraine O’Malley, Ballinrobe (Sister of Kenneth), Lisa Dillon, Ballintubber (sister of Alan). Back row: Cliodhna Healy, Achill, Siobhan Lacken, Knockmore, Elaine Lily, Aghamore and Marie Sweeney, Kiltane (sister of Mikey).

Route ’51 continues through the Gulf States and the flag will next be appearing at the GAA World Cup in the Zayed Sports City Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Where it goes after that is up to you – our members, readers and Mayo fans. Get in touch whether you are in Brindisi, Brisbane or Ballinamuck and we will see that the flag makes its way to you.

2014 Ladies All Star Nominees Announced

2014 Ladies All Star Nominees Announced

The TG4 2014 Ladies All Star nominees were announced last week.

2014 Ladies All Star Nominees

Mayo Ladies 2014 All Star nominees. Amy Bell, Fiona Mc Hale & Cora Staunton.

The TG4 2014 Ladies All Star awards ceremony will take place at the Citywest Hotel in Saggart on Saturday the 8th of November. Mayo have three nominees this year, Amy Bell, Fiona Mc Hale and Cora Staunton. The Ladies Player of the year for 2014 in Senior, Intermediate and Junior will also be announced on the night.

Best of luck to Amy, Fiona and Cora at the All Star awards from everyone here at Mayo Club 51.

The 2014 TG4 Ladies All Star Award Nominees are;

GOALKEEPERS: Ciamh  Dollard (Laois). Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin). Linda Martin (Monaghan).

DEFENDERS: Rachel Ruddy (Dublin). Roisin Phelan (Cork). Mairead Tennyson (Armagh). Angela Walsh (Cork). Eliza Downey (Down). Sorcha Furlong (Dublin). Brid Stack (Cork). AMY BELL (MAYO). Leah Caffery (Dublin). Vera Foley (Cork). Marcella Monahan (Fermanagh). Maggie Murphy (Laois). Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork). Emer Flaherty (Galway). Sinead Goldrick (Dublin). Geraldine O‘Flynn (Cork). Sinead Burke (Galway). Siobhan Mc Grath (Dublin).

MIDFIELD: Caroline O’ Hanlon (Armagh), Caroline Little (Fermanagh), Briege Corkery (Cork), FIONA MC HALE (MAYO), Annette Clarke (Galway), Bernie Breen (Kerry).

FORWARDS: Noelle Healy (Dublin). Annie Walsh (Cork). Sinead McCleary (Armagh). Ciara O’ Sullivan (Cork). Fionnuala McKenna (Armagh). Gemma Begley (Tyrone). Sarah Houlihan (Kerry). Cora Courtney (Monaghan). Carla Rowe (Dublin), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork). Lyndsey Davey (Dublin) Barbara Hannon (Galway). Sinead Aherne (Dublin). CORA STAUNTON (MAYO), Kyla Trainor (DOWN) Lindsay Peat (Dublin). Aine Tighe (Leitrim), Aileen Pyres (Down).

The 2014 TG4 Player’s Player of the Year Nominees are;

Senior Player’s Player of the Year Nominees:

Sinead Burke (Galway)

Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh)

Angela Walsh (Cork)

Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year Nominees:

Caroline Little (Fermanagh)

Aileen Pyres (Down)

Kyla Trainor (Down)

Junior Player’s Player of the Year Nominees:

Clara Donnelly (Wexford)

Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford)

Linda McKeon (New York)

Sponsored by The home of Top Performance and High Quality in Affordable web design, hosting and cloud applications.